

Body: Council

Date: 18 July 2012

Subject: Meads ward by-election held on 31 May 2012

Report of: Chief Executive and Returning Officer

Ward(s): All

Purpose: To inform the Council of the results of the Meads ward by-

election held on 31 May 2012 and related statistical

information.

Contact: Robert Cottrill, Chief Executive. Telephone 01323 415002 or

internally on extension 5002.

Tracey Pannett, Elections and Land Charges Manager Telephone 01323 415074 or internally on extension 5074.

David Robinson, Senior Local Democracy Officer. Telephone

01323 415022 or internally on extension 5022.

Recommendation: To note the report.

1.0 Introduction

- 1.1 This report deals with the Meads ward by-election held on Thursday 31 May 2012. Details of the results and of the candidate elected are given together with other related information.
- 1.2 This election was called following the resignation of former Councillor Nigel Goodyear who resigned on 24 April 2012.
- 1.3 A total of 5 candidates stood for election representing 4 political parties (Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrats and UKIP) and one independent.

2.0 Results

2.1 The results for the Meads ward are set out below:

Candidate:	Party:	E if elected	Votes
Caroline Julie Porte ANSELL	The Conservative Party Candidate	E	1,783
Ian Peter Neville CAMERON	U K Independence Party		322
Keith GELL	Independent		100
Dennis Leslie SCARD	The Labour Party Candidate		323
Gerard George THOMPSON	Liberal Democrats		465

Term of office. The term of office for the above named elected Councillor will expire on the 4th day after the ordinary day of election (i.e. the first Thursday in May) in the year 2015.

2.2 The share of all of the valid votes was as follows:

Conservatives	59.57%
Labour	10.79%
Liberal Democrats	15.54%
UKIP	10.76%
Independent	3.34%

(Note: Figures rounded to 2 decimal places)

3.0 <u>Electoral Turnout Figures</u>

3.1 The electorate for the ward was 8,051 and the number who voted was 3,003. There were 10 rejected ballots. Turnout was 37.30%. The turnout at the May 2011 whole council elections for the Meads ward was 51.42%.

Previous year's turnout figures (by ward) going back to 2002 are available on request.

4.0 Poll Cards

4.1 Poll cards were again printed in a larger format with additional information advising how to apply for a postal vote. The poll cards were despatched on 10 May 2012.

5.0 Absent Voting

- 5.1 The total number of postal votes sent out for this election was 1,614 and 1,200 were returned (74%). Postal voters comprised 20% of the electorate and of all the votes received 40% came from postal voters.
- All postal voters' signatures and dates of birth are now held on computer from information provided when application is made. The voting procedure requires postal voters to sign and give their date of birth when returning their vote. This requires signature recognition software to be linked to our electoral computer system. The whole process is very time consuming but

we successfully achieved our objective in checking all returned postal votes including those handed in at polling stations in time for the count.

5.3 The closing date for postal vote applications was 5pm Wednesday 23 May.

5.5 **Rejected Postal Votes:**

Rejection reason:	
Without ballot paper:	2
Signature absent or did not match	12
Date of birth not given or incorrect	5
Missing signature and date of birth	3
No valid postal voters' statement	0
Total number rejected:	22

- 5.6 No replacement postal voting ballot papers were issued. The number of postal votes received after the close of poll and too late to be counted was 5.
- 5.7 A total of 8 proxy votes were granted.

6.0 Polling Stations

6.1 3 polling stations were opened between the hours of 7.00 a.m. and 10.00 p.m. on the 31 May at 3 different venues. A total of 11 people were employed for the day to staff the stations.

7.0 Counting Arrangements

7.1 The election count took place at the Town Hall. 9 counting staff were engaged for the purposes of counting the votes, together with additional supervisory and support staff. The count commenced at 10.00 p.m. on the 31 May. The result was declared at about 11.20pm.

8.0 Return of election expenses

8.1 Candidates/agents are required to submit their election expense returns by Thursday 5 July. The returns will be open for inspection for a period of two years.

9.0 Conclusion

9.1 I would like to record my thanks to everyone who contributed to the election and ensured that all went well.

Robert Cottrill Chief Executive and Returning Officer

Background Papers:

Previous years' "Returning Officer's" reports can be found at:

2010: http://www.eastbourne.gov.uk/council/meetings/council/?categoryesctl2820332=8268 2009: http://www.eastbourne.gov.uk/council/meetings/council/?categoryesctl2820332=8027

2007: http://www.eastbourne.gov.uk/council/meetings/council/?category=635 2006: http://www.eastbourne.gov.uk/council/meetings/council/?category=438 2005: http://www.eastbourne.gov.uk/council/meetings/council/?category=198